Permission

Parental Consent and Notification Laws

If you are under 18, you may or may not have to tell a parent in order to get an abortion — it all depends on the laws where you live.

Some states do not have any laws about telling your parents or getting their permission. Different states say you have to get permission from a parent or older family member to have an abortion. Other states do not make you get permission, but your parents will have to know that you are getting an abortion.

You may be able to get a judge's permission to have an abortion without telling your parents. This is called "judicial bypass."

The exact rules are different in different places. Find information on parental involvement in your state below.

It is important to take action right away. Abortion is very safe, but there are more risks the longer you wait. There are also time limits on abortion in some states. If you need a judicial bypass, it can take a while to get through the process.

(Updated December 2021 -- We only cover the states listed on our main page, but we are giving you the rules for all states if you need them.)


Alabama

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Alaska

No parental involvement is needed.

Arizona

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Arkansas

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

California

No parental involvement is required.

Colorado

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement. If you do not live with your parents, but you live with a grandparent or an adult aunt or uncle, the adult relative you live with may be told in place of your parents.

Connecticut

No parental involvement is required.

Delaware

If you are under 16, your state requires that one of your parents, a grandparent, or a mental health professional be told of your decision 24 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

District of Columbia

No parental involvement is required.

Florida

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion and give permission for the abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Georgia

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 24 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Hawaii

No parental involvement is required.

Idaho

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Illinois

No parental involvement is required.

Indiana

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Iowa

Your state requires that one of your parents or a grandparent be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Kansas

Your state requires that both of your parents give permission for your abortion. If your parents are separated or divorced, only the parent with custody needs to give permission. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Kentucky

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Louisiana

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Maine

No parental involvement is required.

Maryland

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision before your abortion unless you do not live with either parent and a reasonable effort to give notice is unsuccessful. A doctor can excuse you from this requirement.

Massachusetts

If you are under 16, your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Michigan

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Minnesota

Your state requires that both of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Mississippi

Your state requires that both of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement. If your parents are separated or divorced, only the parent with primary custody must consent.

Missouri

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion, and in some cases your other parent might need to be notified. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Montana

If you are under 16, your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Nebraska

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Nevada

No parental involvement is required.

New Hampshire

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

New Jersey

No parental involvement is required.

New Mexico

No parental involvement is required.

New York

No parental involvement is required.

North Carolina

Your state requires that one of your parents or a grandparent with whom you have lived for at least six months immediately preceding the abortion give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

North Dakota

Your state requires that both of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Ohio

Your state requires that a parent or legal guardian give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Oklahoma

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision at least 48 hours before the abortion takes place and give permission for the abortion. A judge can excuse you from these requirements.

Oregon

No parental involvement is required.

Pennsylvania

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Rhode Island

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

South Carolina

If you are under 17, your state requires that one of your parents or a grandparent give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

South Dakota

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Tennessee

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Texas

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion and separately that one parent be told of your decision 48 hours before the abortion takes place. A judge from your county (or a neighboring county if fewer than 10,000 people live in your county) can excuse you from both of these requirements.

Utah

Your state requires that one of your parents give permission for your abortion and separately that one parent is notified of your decision 24 hours before the abortion takes place. A judge can excuse you from the consent requirement.

Vermont

No parental involvement is required.

Virginia

Your state requires that one of your parents or a grandparent or adult sibling with whom you live give permission for your abortion and separately that one parent or a grandparent or adult sibling with whom you live be told of your decision 24 hours before the abortion takes place. A judge can excuse you from both of these requirements.

Washington

No parental involvement is required.

Washington DC

No parental involvement is required.

West Virginia

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Wisconsin

Your state requires that one of your parents, a foster parent, a grandparent, or an aunt, uncle, or sibling who is at least 25 years old give permission for your abortion. A judge can excuse you from this requirement.

Wyoming

Your state requires that one of your parents be told of your decision 48 hours before your abortion and give permission for the abortion. A judge can excuse you from these requirements.


This information was adapted from Planned Parenthood.